Last email from the CCM

This should be the last email we receive from Grant while in the CCM (or Mexico MTC for anyone new here). He leaves for Texas next Tuesday, the 10th of December, and possibly we will get a phone call from the airport. It will be so exciting to hear that deep voice again. Hopefully soon I’ll be able to post his address for Texas, which is where the work will begin.  In the mean time here is the news from the training center. The “Landon” he mentions is Landon Welker, another young man from our stake who is going to a Spanish speaking mission. He arrived at the CCM last Wednesday. We told Grant to keep an eye out for him because we had sent some mail and a photo album down. (Grant was supposed to have a small album of pictures from life at home before he left, but it didn’t happen). I think it’s funny Grant “sent four guys” to find him. I’m not sure why he couldn’t go himself? I’ll have to ask him next time.

 

“So last time I wrote was before thanksgiving, and quite a bit has happened, I will start from after I e-mailed on wednesday, that happened, found out that I only needed 1 stamp to mail stuff with american stamps, got a letter from Erlyn, got a letter from Grandma Hagen, got a package this week from Grandma Morrill, but i digress. After I e-mailed wednesday i was eager and anxiously waiting to see Landon, that didnt happen, but I sent four guys from my district to the Thomas S Monson building, where they drop off new missionaries to check. They found him. The next day was thanksgiving, which was also different than I expected. It was a regular day until lunch, which they had turned rather fancy for CCM comedor standards, they had covered all the tables with white table cloths, napkin dispencers with the CCM logo on them, started building a nativity scene outside that they finished on sunday. The food was wonderful, it was turkey, pavo, with mashed potatoes, a side of mexican style stuffing, and dessert was pumpkin pie with Hagan-Daz ice cream, one scoop per pie slice. That was fantastic. That night was a devotional, we sang on the stage in front of the missionaries, we sang  Venid A Mi. (come follow me) this happened after I was ushering with my district, making sure people filled up all the front rows before the back. Then sadly but still awesome, President Russel M Nelson spoke… from Provo not here… but he gave a powerful talk, every devotional and most meetings I am writing down the topics and advice. and scriptures. Also, during lunch on thanksgiving I finally met Landon, I dont see him too often, he handed me the package with the photo book and the letters, everyone loves spencer’s face in jacobs hobo stove display picture. Also, we changed classrooms, we went from a large decent spaced room for 8 people to half the size, and our teachers got changed, Hermano Murillo, our first investigator is no longer our teacher he is playing investigator for the new district in our zone now and becomes their teacher thursday. But as of this week during daily planning session he comes into our class really just to help us out, talk and laugh, he is more of a friend than a teacher really and that is ok, he had dinner with us once, came to the comedor with his newly wedded wife and sat down with us, that was cool. Sunday was fast sunday (yes I am captain obivious) and our sacrament room got changed to the seminary building instead of the third floor of the Thomas S. Monson building. My district sang Venid adoremos for the zone it was nice, we did parts, I sang base… This fast sunday President Pratt the president of the CCM, Presidnet Jones, his advisor, and their wives decided to attend our sacrament service and heard us sing. During fast sunday most of our district talked, as soon as President torres of our branch sat down after his testimony first, I decided to go, not sure why, but I just felt I needed to bear my testimony, yes in spanish. we had devotionals that night, we ushered as always. monday not much happened, saturday not much, tuesday was pizza night and we all went and bought sodas again, 8 peso (nearly 50 cents) por a half litre of sprite isnt so bad. so that leaves today. Today was temple day again, we left at 7 got back around 1 did laundry, got haircuts, the guys in our district found out they leave monday, because they are going foreign the church had to get them a flight to the CCM, cancel the return flight, then arrange flights to the missions, so they didnt know when they would leave until today. now more missionaries are arriving as I look out of the window here in the Wilfrod Woodruf computerlab i think that is the one i am in. oh and to explain, they closed my classroom because they are renovating 4 of the eight classroom buildings currently. Love you, love everyone so much, When I get to texas I will know if i can e-mail immediately, also I might beable to call you guys at the airport on tuesday, apparently we need to be on the plane at 9:30 am and the only buses that go to the airport leave at 2 am and 8 am and we need to be at the airport at least 3 hours early…

Sincerely your loving older brother, son and elder
Elder Grant Hagen “
Me and Elder Leavitt, my companion

Me and Elder Leavitt, my companion

me and President Jones who was the president who went with us today to the temple.

me and President Jones who was the president who went with us today to the temple.

Elder Smith got a shirt, Elder dow is Elder Dow, and elder Ray isnt interested

Elder Smith got a shirt, Elder dow is Elder Dow, and elder Ray isnt interested

Hermana Jones bought everyone a banana from a vendor and this is a native elder collecting all the peels for trash

Hermana Jones bought everyone a banana from a vendor and this is a native elder collecting all the peels for trash

 

The banana vendor

The banana vendor

Poinsettas everywhere in the CCM and Temple grounds.

Poinsettas everywhere in the CCM and Temple grounds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

getting haircuts

getting haircuts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

new class

new class

A tally of who can make Hermana Packard laugh in our district, that is elder Ray, creator of the game because it seems like she doesnt laugh often.

A tally of who can make Hermana Packard laugh in our district, that is elder Ray, creator of the game because it seems like she doesnt laugh often.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

