Pretty Good Spanish for 5 Months in!

Pues esta semana era bien! recibe sus cajas, y muchisimos gracias por los dos, y tambien recibe una caja de abuelitos morrill!
Y para sus preguntas, escribimos nuestros cartas en la oficina de nuestro complejo de apartamentos, hay dos computadoras que todos los residentes pueden usar para cual quiere reason.
Hay mas securidad con nuestros cajas postal aqui que haltom, aqui hay un grande caja de correo para cartas y cajas pequenos, pero en el mismo vez, si hay un caja grande ellos ponen en la oficina y cuando visitamos para correo o por nuestro hora que tenemos permision a usar computadoras verificamos si hay cajas para nosotros. Y con tristeza si tengo un companero que habla espanol, pero no estamos hablando solamente en espanol. Estoy tratando entonces usualmente hablo en espanol y el en ingles.

Well this week I got sick, had president interviews, and helped people move stuff in one way or another.

Tuesday we had a district meeting, there are a total of 5 missionaries in our district, a trio companionship and us. The other district in our zone is 5 companionships, I think it is divided up like that for spanish.

Wednesday we did service at a members home/ ranch? Hermano Saldana, he lives on the outskirts of the city and we were helping him move bricks from a pile he has into his living room. I will explain, apparently he remodels a room of his house at a time and takes about a year doing so, he seals off the room from the rest of the house, this time with plywood. Then he removes the floor and builds a foundation. His house was origionally pretty much a trailer home on a couple cinder blocks. So now he is building concrete pillars underneath about ten per room, then filling in the rest of the space with rocks or in this case brick he found. He told us he plans on covering it all in cement then builds the floor. He is a character, and is always willing to go on exchanges with us which is really nice.

Thursday is our weekly planning day so for most of the day we were planning in our apartment making goals and such. We went to another member’s home and moved some furniture out of their house and a new set of drawers in. The packages came on Thursday as well

Friday was interviews, it is nice that we can talk to president one on one, one elder in our district walked out of his interview saying “that man knows everything” and then proceeded to search through his scriptures trying to recapture what he had discussed. All I can say is that the authority that he holds as a mission president is powerful and wonderful. President Ames also says hello to Grandpa Morrill

Saturday I woke up feeling terrible, I think I caught a cold or a bug, I had to keep telling myself to just go a little more, and I made it through the day, we helped another member move some stuff from one storage container to another then later that day he took us to Golden Corral. By then I was feeling a bit better, still a little stuffed up up to today. There was also a baptism on Saturday for a little girl who is eight, her parents and family was baptized about two years ago, then went inactive due to marriage problems. They are doing their best to come back though! We are doing what we can to help them as well. I gave a talk on the gift of the Holy Ghost, I was asked to do so about 15 minutes before the baptism… Good thing I am a missionary who studies everyday on topics as such…. At the end of the baptism the little girl bore her testimony in spanish. I wish I could describe the spirit that was felt in the room, her innocent and pure testimony was amazing.

Then Sunday was church with meetings at nine we had a lunch/dinner at a members home of steak and chicken. Speaking of chicken, there are at least 5 different chains of chicken oriented restaurants and several mom and pop places as well.

Well that was my week, maybe I should read my journal p-day morning more often… I love you so much! Thank you for all you do, and for everything that yall do as a family, receiving those packages was meaningful to me, anytime I get to hear from yall is wonderful.

With love,
Your son,
Elder Grant Hagen

a photo of the landscape we could see when we did service with hermano saldana

a photo of the landscape we could see when we did service with hermano saldana

There is a truck with the furniture we moved from a trailer home

There is a truck with the furniture we moved from a trailer home

where I sleep, with my Texas flag with past missionary signatures from the areas that I have been in, and some ancient bath robe covering the window to keep the cold air from blowing in and replace the broken shades.

where I sleep, with my Texas flag with past missionary signatures from the areas that I have been in, and some ancient bath robe covering the window to keep the cold air from blowing in and replace the broken shades.

Leave a Reply

