Stories

Mom email:

“Well Ya’ll be a southern thing but I am really close to Oklahoma right now, in fact, I am in the second closest Spanish area to the border, and in the Stake right on the edge!

This week was definitely interesting, for example yesterday was a different experience. We were riding a street we normally do down a local heavily Spanish populated area and I saw a man with a large guitar case in one hand riding some distance behind us. I knew we were heading to an appointment but I slowed down to wait for him to catch up so I could talk to him as we rode. He eventually caught up to us and he started the conversation! Apparently he is from Chino California and was telling us how grateful he is for us sharing God’s word and for doing it on bikes instead of cars! We talked about how much I love this work and then he figured out I was from California and told me that when I finish my mission I should bike home instead of driving or flying (I think he prefers the benefits of biking over using gasoline) He said he has done the ride from where I am now to Chino in two weeks!

That was one of the experiences that happened this week, I shared some others with dad as well.

The cruise sounds like it was enjoyable, sleeping in, ever ready food, sounds like a perfect atmosphere for missionaries, we should have staffed missionaries on every crusie ship, I volunteer! JAJAJA

I also ripped one of my shirt pockets pretty bad, I was getting out of a truck’s back seats and my pocket or my planner caught on the headrest of the seat in front, and before I knew it, all of my stuff, my tag, my planner, and my handbook were in my hand and the pocket was limply hanging on. So one down… I also have the pants and they are great! it is a different brand but they are the right length and a sturdy material!

Ripped pocket

Ripped pocket

Well I love you! I hope you have a better week this week! tell my brothers I love them too!

Love,
Elder Grant Hagen”

Selfie

Selfie

Dad email:

“I can definitely testify that if people don’t read the Book of Mormon, they will not come to a knowledge of the truth of the book. It really is all of this truth that if someone takes the time to study and ponder, then they know that it is true! That is why we follow the advice of President Jeffery R. Holland and when they don’t keep commitments we need to be DEVASTATED! A lot of missionaries love to sympathize with those who don’t keep commitments, but I try to be as depressed as possible, almost made someone cry once, we had a guy yesterday who we invited to a fireside with our mission president that he does once a month. We showed up at the investigators house after he said he couldn’t go and since he couldn’t go, neither could we. We were on his porch when he drove by and he asked why we weren’t at our meeting, I straight out told him, “well our ride fell through.” He felt terrible, I feel a bit cynical talking about this but I was a bit glad that he was truly touched by missing that opportunity.

I am constantly testifying to people of the truth of the book of Mormon, for some Hispanics, knowing that it is a record of their ancestral line is huge! They like the fact that God talked with their ancestors as well!

This week I got lost for an hour with my companion. We were trying to go to a trailer park and so we rode a different route than normal. Instead of going from our apartment, we went from the church and rode out into the countryside to get there. It was quite peaceful and an enjoyable ride but we eventually felt that we had passed our turn. I asked an older man mowing his lawn for directions and he pointed me back the other way and we got to our destination safely, only to find the part member family we planned to teach, drinking. That was a bit of a change and a learning experience, found a lot of old cars and tractors, I have seen a Shelby Cobra in town and the Corvette club on the Fourth of July.
August 2014 the long road

August 2014 bridge

Elder Hagen and companion got lost in the country side for about an hour.

Elder Hagen and companion got lost in the country side for about an hour.

Well there are some of this weeks stories, Oh I (the member we were with) also got pulled over by a cop, tore through a pocket on one of my shirts all in the same instant while trying to get out of a members truck to talk with the investigators standing outside their house watching the whole incident. They sympathized with us and blamed the racial card for the member. So I am just glad that that didn’t put us in bad standings with this family, hopefully they keep reading and progress towards baptism!

Take care, remember that I pray for yall daily and that I love you.
Love Elder Grant Hagen”

Leave a Reply

