Staying Put in Denton

“Hello Dearest Mom,

Sounds like this week was a week of firsts, this is the first of the transfer here, and I will be staying here in Denton! To make it more awesome, I will get to stay with my same companion!

Hmmm I will start with friday this week!
I spent Friday in the other elders’ side of Denton on an exchange! We went and visited several houses, and found a few people with whom we set return appointments. At four we ended the exchange and all met up at a members drive way, said goodbye and Elder Kremer and I went on a twenty minute bikeride to get to the stake center to meet a member for dinner. They had cooked some aweome chicken and with beans and lettuce we made burritos. That night we said goodbye to the family Pedroza, they are some of the coolest members I have ever met. They are moving/ left for New Mexico on Saturday, so we will miss them, but we got to help them with service in their house and backyard cleaning and moving things to and fro. They are the family in the picture, they are converts of seven years and are inspirational examples to every missionary who has ever been there.

On Saturday I wasn’t even sure if I was going to get to go out and teach. We biked all the way to the stake center in our suits for a baptism! We got to watch someone in the singles ward that the Zone Leaders have been teaching get baptized! It was really cool, I had gotten to teach the guy once on an exchange and now he was getting baptized about a month after they started teaching him! They had one of the YSA girls bring her harp and she played a musical number after the baptism. So that was the first one! Then! I got to interview another man named Cesar who was super cool as well and I am grateful for him and the opportunity I had to interview him for his baptism. He then got baptized an hour later and I was able to be a witness for his baptism, even though the sisters had taught him, I am grateful to be a part of his progression! Then we had dinner with a member again at the stake center at 5, they made really good french bread sandwiches! Then another member in our ward walked in and invited us to her son’s wedding! He was getting married in thirty minutes by the bishop there in the stake center. We then attended that and were able to get on our way and teach people! We got to teach this one investigator who is super awesome and understands the purpose of us visiting!

Well those were my main stories, I shared different ones with dad as well! I hope you have a fantastic week, take care! I love you!

Love
Elder Grant Hagen”

Member family that moved

Member family that moved

Spanish speaking missionaries

Spanish speaking missionaries

“Buenos Dias mi papa,

This week has been full of different adventures, but to come to a conclusion and write to both you and Mom I will space out the stories.

I want to let both of you know though that I will be staying in this area for another transfer! Which means I will be here until october! I wasnt planning on staying to be honest but now that I know I will be I am excited to be able to baptize all the people we have been teaching and it means I am with Elder Kremer for one more transfer!

This week I got to drive for the first time in my whole mission! We went on an exchange where I went to Fort Worth city si mismo and I was given driving privileges during the exchange. It was a 2014 Chevy Cruise if you were wondering, and I was able to learn a lot from the other Elder who is a native from Mexico and super cool. He taught me to use analogies to a greater extent, almost every lesson we had he used some analogy in some way, for example, why do we go to a pharmacy? To get medicine, we dont go for how big the pharmacy is, how fancy it looks, but for what it has. The Pharmacist holds the authority to give us the right medicine. The medicine is repentance, or if you want to be specific, baptism and the sacrament. The pharmacist is someone holding the priesthood authority. What happens if someone doesnt have the right recipe for the medicine? It wont work right, the authority means that they have the right recipe.

First Mission Drive

First Mission Drive

We were using analogies such as that one and it really applied deep to those we were teaching.

I also saw a gun range while driving and had my companion take a picture of it for you.

August 2014 shooting range

I also went on another exchange with the other elders in my district and we did a lot of walking, and tracting, and I found Jack’s smoker. The giant Jackrabbit is a smoker, complete with exhaust pipe ears, and the side opens up. I have seen quite a few smokers here in Texas but this one is the most creative yet!

August 2014 jackalope smoker

August 2014 jackalope smoker 2

We also did service at a members home, they are moving to New Mexico, which is kind of sad, especially since the family is pretty much permanent missionaries in their area, the mom was always talking to people about the gospel and it was common for us to visit and for her to give us a referral.

The little tiny lizard is being held by elder tanner who is 6’6″ the thing was tiny, we were moving a pile of lumber to a trailer and a bunch of the little lizards came running out from underneath, and each and every one that we caught dropped its tail as soon as we grabbed the lizard itself. One of the elders accidentally injured a lizard in its thigh, so it dropped both of its hind legs! and ran away with just its front legs, that was terrifying!
August 2014 baby lizard

Well I hope you have a great week, keep working hard and I am always proud to call you my father.

I Love you
Love
Elder Grant Hagen”

Leave a Reply

