Porch O’ Cats

11-24-14
Dear Mom,
I want you to know that I love you and I am sorry that I didn’t get as much of an e-mail to you last week as I wanted to, so this week I have divided some of my stories between you and dad.
This week we had our thanksgiving ward dinner at seven on Friday! I sadly didn’t take any pictures of it since I was up and about without my bag, but we were able to sit with a member named Sunny we are visiting to help go to the temple, and he brought his niece and 5 of her kids! That was super cool to sit and talk with them and now we are going to have “thanksgiving dinner” with them at noon on Thursday! They are super cool, not members but very kind and understanding people!
On Saturday it poured, they thought it was going to be snow, but instead we got a thunderstorm that flooded the city! It started the night before and thunder woke me up at one in the morning! There is a tree outside my window and I have a very slight fear of it falling on my part of the house! It wont happen, missionaries have lived in the same apartment for about 10 years and nothing has every happened.
During the rain we rode out to visit some potential investigators and came across one family that had been taught in the past, I felt the spirit so strongly in the lesson we shared with them as we were able to share scriptures, testify of prophets, of Joseph Smith, and of the Book of Mormon. I was so amazed by the power of the Holy Ghost, and I know that this work is so wonderful and true, I haven’t baptized a ton on my mission so far, really one person, but I make sure that everyone I meet and teach knows that this doctrine is true.
On the other end of the story, the sister missionaries in the ward had a baptism on Saturday as well! That is exciting for the ward and I hope it shows them the importance and how wonderful this work is!
I love you so much and I hope all of yall have a great thanksgiving, send pictures please!
Love!
Elder Grant Hagen
P.S. That is a picture of the porch of one of our investigator’s homes, they keep food out and there are anywhere from 7-9 cats! They offer us some every once and awhile, hahaha. november 2014 porch o cats
Other than that, I am bundled up at night while we ride, thank goodness I have all of this winter clothes, and I am using the long sleeve shirts dad sent
november 2014 bundled up
Howdy father!
Well mom didn’t send an e-mail this week, I hope she got mine from last week, I has having difficulties and the computer was buggy.
This week I will talk about the pictures I took, I had about 50 this week! First on Monday we went to La Gran Plaza, basically the megaplex of the shops we saw at Ensenada, it was also a cultural center with some cool sculptures and artwork. We toured the place on Monday.
November 2014 Steer from parts November 2014 Wall Art
Tuesday we went and had a great day teaching a new family! Sadly Elder Lickiss’s bike got a flat so we had to walk home and patch it up, on our way we found an old bike someone was throwing in the dumpster, so free bike! We stripped it for parts and patched up and got back out teaching again!
November 2014 Bike parts
On Friday we did service for an investigator named Miguel and his family! We took a few hours and helped prep their yard for landscaping by pulling up old bricks, cutting the lawn, removing a dead tree/bush, it was a fun and great time to help them and his wife brought us lunch of Gorditas! That was delicious!
November 2014 service
So those are the pictures that I took,
We also have a few thanksgiving dinners planned through out Thursday, so lets see if I gain 30 pounds! We have interview with our mission president tomorrow as well! That is a cool spiritual experience where we get to meet with him for about 15 minutes personally every three months, did you do that in Venezuela? How often did you see  your mission president? Cuando usted dice que era un asistante al presidente que trabajo en la oficina, como lo fue y por cuanto tiempo? Mientras que estaba en las mision, escribio en un cuarderno diario?
Te amo papa y espero que disfrunten esta semana!
Tu hijo,
Elder Grant Hagen
Leave a Reply

