There Once was a Cowboy who had 4 Thanksgiving dinners!

12-1-14
AHHH the first of December! I feel really strange knowing that the months are just slipping by!
I also wont know if I am getting transferred until two weeks from today. So I have no idea if I will be in Fort Worth or some other location. This week was an interesting one and stayed warm for the most part at about seventy degrees.
Before I begin I want to tell you that I got the best package on Friday!!! It was full of delicious orange rolls and some great letters from all of yall! Thank you so much! That really was a great surprise to find, the box felt a little light when I got it off the front porch, but was the best to enjoy those orange rolls, yes I shared a few with my companions. I am really grateful and happy for those though! The letters were a great joy and I am so glad I have them. Thanks so much!
november 2014 package of orange rolls november 2014 package of orange rolls 2
Okay so this week on Monday we went to the Stockyards looking for a Browing Company hunting sticker for Elder Pierce since he found out he is related to the Browning Family. We didn’t find one but I got some Christmas shopping and we saw the cattle run, met some traveling Mormons, who sent yall a picture of us! That’s the second time that has happened to us, but I just wasn’t sure about sending a picture the first time, that was at the Zoo, but I have pictures on my camera from that as well.
Tuesday we had interviews with the Mission President, I always look forward to the interviews, it is great to get insight from President Ames, he didn’t tell me anything about the upcoming transfer, but helped me understand how to strengthen my faith even more, I took notes, I have been and Always take pages of notes at meetings and conferences, I have filled two journals from studies and notes in general, it is a habit I think I will keep. Then we went and did service for a part member family in our ward, we helped them set up for Christmas and raked up their yard, then they cooked Empenadas, which are delicious fried pockets of meat with a coleslaw on top and usually a hot sauce! Then we had chocolate pie….
Wednesday was the only real normal day, Except I was on an exchange with the Zone leaders, Elder Tulaga went to their area and Elder Pierce came here, we contacted and found a few potential families we plan on visiting this week.
Then there was Thursday, Thanksgiving last year was in the MTC, so that was fine, but here, we got up and got to an investigators home at 11 and had a traditional American thanksgiving! With pie, cranberry sauce, all was there except the Hawaiian salad… I had two plates there, realized that may have not been a wise choice. We did studies after, then went and visited some investigators, really just a few porch lessons about thanks, giving thanks to god, I shared the story of the ten lepers with one, we talked about Ammon boasting in the strength of God in another, it went quite well. At 4 we visited a members home and we had another delicious thanksgiving dinner, just one plate of delicious potatoes, turkey, beef/ brisket, We shared a message with them as well and it went really well! However… we had another dinner at 6, we biked there and they didn’t start until about 7, but a ton of people were there, they had tamales, turkey, had me cook the gravy, cole slaw, empenadas of mashed banana and sugar (really good) but my stomach can only handle so much good at one time, I barely got a plate down, then we biked at light speed to the middle of our area to get to our last dinner at an investigator’s home, we got there and ate at 7:30, I didn’t finish the plate, but we had a great time, got to talk, and they gave us some great left overs! I have pictures of the three first meals, but not of the last one…
november 2014 turkey missionary november 2014 thanksgiving dinner 2 november 2014 thanksgiving dinner 1
The first picture is me in my collection of cowboy stuff, I lack some still, but I will obtain!
november 2014 He's a cowboy
I love you and I hope and pray for yall each day!With love,
Elder Grant Hagen
ps. I messed up on picture numbers, the first two are the great package I got, and me eating the Orange Rolls from heaven! These are the cowboy picture and the first “dinner”

Amado Padre,
Estoy muy bien! Tenia cuatro cenas del dia de gracias/ pavo/ juagolote, y les describe en mi carta a mama!
How did you know what I wanted to do with the horns? hahaah those are big! I saw a pair the sime diameter as those but longer on Monday, they were selling them for five grand! The normal size ones are about 6 inches in diameter and 3 feet long each horn, they go for about 100-300 dollars.
Thanks for the awesome pictures! I always enjoy seeing yall, and about the questions of the office, I was just curious, we have office elders who were called for that position, but I just wanted to know a bit about your mission life as well.
The teaching is doing well, we taught a few more lessons this week than the last, we also are finding people, some not with huge potential, but for the most part, pretty interesting. We haven’t had anyone come to church in all of my time here, so that is a struggle we are facing, but I bet we could fix that with getting members to go with us to teaching appointments, and friendship those we are teaching.
Also last Monday I Had my companion cut my hair, that was an interesting experience, he is a good barber!
november 2014 companion cuts hair
I hope you have a great week and less stress now that you aren’t dealing with the Paraguay guy, most of the people here are from different states in Mexico, but sometimes they are from Honduras or El Salvador, it is pretty cool to see all the different cultures.
Disfrute su Semana!
Elder Grant Hagen
Leave a Reply

